Finding “The One”

Today I shared one of the most memorable moments in my hometown best friend Brook’s life. Her, her mom Kathy, and I ventured to Des Moines in search for her wedding dress. Yes, my childhood best friend is getting married! Let’s pause so I can wipe my teary eyes… again. I will be standing next to her in approval and support as her maid of honor on June 4, 2011. I am honored to be her go-to friend when anything needs to be done or to put a finishing touch on something. Today was my first act as MOH and I couldn’t be happier with our trip.

Her goal was to find a wedding dress, and let me just ruin the ending now, we found it. We found the one! She had previously looked locally in small town Carroll, Iowa, and then a couple other places in Des Moines, but today we parked at Stacey’s Bridal and walked in open-minded and so excited. Brook explained her dream dress and Shelby, our consultant, drew some possible matches from the many racks of white and ivory wedding gowns. The dressing room curtain closed then three minutes later it reopened with the most gorgeous and happy Brook I’ve ever seen (and she’s naturally gorgeous!). She was wearing the one. And I silently knew it. If a maid of honor could know when the perfect dress had found the perfect bride (and have it not be herself), that was the moment.

Brook fell in love and the previous number one dress became number two. It was utterly breathtaking. It even made my eyes water… and I’ll admit, I let a couple tears seep into my finger as I quickly wiped it away. Kathy, Brook’s mom, came over with teary eyes and hugged me as we stood awestruck, watching Brook add a vail and thin tiara. She said, “Our Brook is growing up!” I added a, “I can’t believe she’s getting married!” It continued like that throughout the other six or seven dresses, but never as powerful as that first dress.

Brook kept saying, “I still like the first dress…” after every other dress she tried on. Nothing could match this perfect gown. Well, needless to say, she purchased that first dress we all cried over. I tried on some bridesmaid dresses and I am 99 percent sure we found the dress and color. Plum color in a strapless full-length, light weight dress. It’s gorgeous and I’m honored to wear it.

While trying on wedding and bridesmaid dresses there was background music from the Backstreet Boys, Avril Lavigne, and the like — music we listened to as teenagers, sung along to in cars driving the drag at night, and danced to at middle and high school dances with immature boys who would never fully have our hearts. Who knew we’d be listening to those same songs picking out her wedding dress? It was kind of cool… no, it was cool. Common, everyday things like songs that form your younger years can come full circle to be background music for you standing on a pedestal crying over the one.

I love you, Brook and Scott. I can’t wait to celebrate your big day June 4, 2011!

(I’d post pictures, but then it won’t be a surprise for Scott and everyone else attending the wedding. I hold the secrets!)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Finding “The One”

  1. Dee Ludwig

    Oh Jennifer…what a wonderfully delightful writing. Sounds like a great day with a great friend.
    It just doesn’t get any better than that ! I could “see” you guys through your writing. Awesome as usual. Keep your creativity going…you’ve got what it takes.
    Love ya always,
    Dee

  2. Bethany

    Jenn! This is great! I’ll admit, I got tears in my eyes reading it.

    Keep up the great work!

    Bethany

  3. Brook Buswell

    Awww… what a perfect post. You almost made me tear up again. πŸ™‚ I couldn’t have picked a better dress and I definitely couldn’t pick a better maid of honor. I can’t wait to have you by my side on my big day. It will be here before we know it!

    Love you!
    Brook

    P.S. My mom just read this with me too and she is also grateful for you to have been there with us in finding ‘the one’. She says she loves you to. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

