Back in the City

Home Sweet NYC

Has it really been a month since I posted? Wow, my apologies! This September has been one of the most eventful in my entire life. It even beats starting 12 years of grade school, and all the crazy nights of fall in college. I mean, if you combine all of those Septembers into one huge month, it still wouldn’t compare with what is happening in my life right now. Dying to know more? Well, I’m back in the City… yes, people, New York City.

After the NYU Summer Publishing Institute in mid-July, I applied within companies I fell in love with and one of them came calling. Sterling Publishing’s children’s department called to set up an interview for their Flash Kids’ fall internship. Flash Kids is an educational children’s book imprint that publishes workbooks, flash cards, and other learning tools for pre-K through middle school kids. Yeah… it’s pretty much my happy place.

With my 1.5 years of college classes within elementary education, five years in childcare, and my raising with a teacher for a mother, I qualified for this position by a lot. They wanted someone who would understand grade levels and how children learn at each age and grade level. So I accepted this internship and moved to the city. This internship mixes my two passions perfectly — publishing and education.

I moved from my hometown in Iowa to Cincinnati, Ohio to live with my cousins before this opportunity came up. Within a week and a half, I was packing my bags again to move to New York City. This all happened in a week. One week. Seven days. 168 hours. (the minutes calculation is too advanced for my journalism degree.) I accepted the internship Friday, September 10th. I moved Friday, September 17th. I started the internship September 20th. After the first week, I can say that this job is by far my favorite job I’ve had yet.

After staying with friends in Harlem and Brooklyn for two weeks, I have finally found a place in Astoria (Queens), New York with two roommates. Thanks to my friends, Katie, Jessie, and Eric for letting me crash!

Being back in the City is stressful, crowded, loud, and crazy… but it’s bright, fun, adventurous, and full of my dreams coming true.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

