Update on my life

I just wanted to update you all on my life. It’s been awhile and a lot has changed, changed again, changed once more, and finally stopped changing.

After spending the best year of my life in New York City, I have come to realize that the East Coast is not for me. Don’t get me wrong I loved most every day spent among the 8.6 million people, a few of which became lifelong friends, and all of the livin’ big experiences I encountered. Sterling Publishing was amazing and I will be a published educational author come November with my six preschool workbooks: Preschool Activities. NYC was a dream. It was amazing, magical, annoying, loud, and filled with the best things. I have forever changed because of that city. I also have acquired a few words that my friends point out that I say differently now, including “New Jersey,” “water,” and “yeah.” I will give you laughing rights just once. πŸ™‚ I’m working on it!!

So for those who don’t know, I am back living in Iowa about ready to start a post-bachelor’s program at Iowa State University. I’m going back to earn my Elementary Education degree with certification in middle school (7th and 8th grade) English/Language Arts. Ideally, I’d like to teach middle school English. Now, I never thought I’d say that because middle school was insane for me and who knows who that girl was back then. I can’t even imagine dealing with those teens every day, BUT… I know that if I didn’t have my writing in 7th and 8th grade, I would never be where I am today. I know I would never have been able to cope with and battle hormones, emotions, or the drama I claimed back then. Writing saved my life. And so I feel if I can teach English in a middle school I can at least reach a few teens who feel the same way. Others I can deal with… those ones who despise English. I love a challenge!

The program will take me five semesters, including student teaching. I am set to graduate May of 2013. I start August 22 and am excited. I am already a part of the literary journal here at ISU called “Sketch” and am a non-fiction editor. I was asked to come back to the First Amendment Day committee as a leader this year by my journalism school and I will be playing a requested “minor” role. I’m mostly excited to have access to Cornerstone Church, a church that helped shape me during my first degree. I have pledged to go every week. Also, with my tuition, I have access to the university gyms and will be working out regularly too.

Overall, it was the hardest decision of my life. This past year pulled me, poked me, and tore me apart, trying to figure out what I was meant to do, where I was meant to be, and where my priorities stood. And today I can answer in about a 95 percent assurance that I am meant to: teach and freelance write/edit in the summers, be in the Midwest near a bigger city, and know my priorities stand with my family and where I know that eventually I can raise a family in a safe and open environment. For those of you I have kept up with this past year, you understand how long this took me to figure out.

I can say that the real world is rough, that money is my worst talking point, and that making grown-up decisions is anything but easy. Also, I can say I love NY without sounding cliche and that that city will forever be with me even if I did trade it out for Iowa and cornfields. Thanks for all of your support and guidance. And I promise, more blog posts are coming soon!

My city and me

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Update on my life

  1. Great post, Jenn! PLEASE do keep writing your posts. It’s amazing to see how much you’ve experienced and grown over the past couple of years. I look forward to the day when your book gets published! πŸ™‚

  2. Dee Ludwig

    I am glad you had the experience to live in NYC so that you won’t have that unending desire to “check it out” there and regret not doing it. By being in NYC, you grew up some because you couldn’t just have mom or dad hop in the car and drive to Ames to help you out. YOU were forced to make some adult decisions more or less on your own. Such valuable lessons you learned by being there! Very gutsy move to go there without knowing anyone or having a place to live. Wow…that is something I know I couldn’t have done alone. But…you did it!!!! I am sure the small city of Ames smiled from edge to edge when you moved back. Ames and you always meshed so well and I am certain your next two years there will be happy ones. I still say the most beautiful campus I have ever been on is at Iowa State University. Educationally sound, friendly, caring…close enough to home but yet far enough away to be able to continue to mature and grow into a full-fledged adult woman. Good decision to add to your education at ISU !!! Hey… and you don’t have to buy all new college logo t-shirts and hoodies. ha. Welcome back to Iowa where the grass is greener, the education is great, and the people are friendly. By the way, your new “digs” rock !!! Love your new home in Ames. Can hardly wait to see it all fixed up with your stuff. The best of luck to you Jennifer as you go through these next 2 years. One more thing….do not stop writing…ever.

Leave a Reply

